What is the Bono Iacobus?

bono iacobus

The Bono Iacobus is a touristic service specifically designed for the St. James’ Way. This pass permits you to walk through all stages along the different historical paths that during various centuries have reached Santiago de Compostela. For a price between 195€ and 970€, pilgrims get offered different routes that are planned beside the seven already available ones.

They also can take advantage of numerous benefits that make their trip easier. Moreover, the Bono Iacobus includes, for each route, accommodation in different country houses, including dinner and breakfast. And for an extra charge, pilgrims can have a picnic every day of their journey and use a luggage transfer service. In addition, walkers are picked up from the last stretch of their route and, after staying overnight, they are taken to the beginning of the next stage by car.

Right now, there are seven routes offered by the Bono Iacobus:

  • French Way: It is the most known route between the different historical ways that reach Santiago de Compostela. It consists of 165 kilometres divided into 7 stages. Despite the fact that it begins on French territory, it enters Galicia along O Cebreiro.
  • Southeast Way – Vía da Prata: The Via da Prata was already used to connect the south with the north-western part of the Iberian Peninsula. Although it has its origin in Andalucia and Extremadura, in Galician lands the route connects Verin with Santiago de Compostela. It consists of 184 kilometres divided into 7 stages.
  • Fisterra – Muxía Way: It is the only route that begins in Compostela. Although it’s in this city where the Way ends, there are pilgrims who decide to continue their pilgrimage to the coast (Costa da Morte). It consists of 119 kilometres divided into 6 stages.
  • Portuguese Way: The pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela achieved considerable importance in Portugal, whose inhabitants actively contributed to the development of the cult of St. James. Although the main reason to undertake this journey was a religious one, the fact is that over the years, there have grown strong cultural, economical and intellectual bounds between both countries. In Galicia the route starts in Tui and consists of 115 kilometres divided into 5 stages.
  • Northern Way: Probably it is the most historical route of all. Its origin goes back to the years after the discovery of the tomb, of who is said to be the Apostle Santiago Major (9th century). In Galicia this route begins in Ribadeo and consists of 193 kilometres divided into 7 stages.
  • English Way: In medieval Europe it was one of the most frequently used pilgrimage routes to reach Compostela along the coast. The starting points of this route in Galicia are the ports of A Coruña and Ferrol, and both alternative routes converge in the parish of Bruma. From A Coruña, the distance travelled is 75 kilometres divided into 3 stages. From Ferrol, the distance is 118 kilometres divided into 5 stages.
  • Primitive Way: It owns its name for being the first known pilgrimage route to Santiago. Historically, the point of origin lies in the city of Oviedo and, in Galicia, it joins the French Way in Melide. This route is an especially difficult route due to the complicated ground and the changing weather conditions. It consists of 156 kilometres divided into 6 stages.

In short, if you are thinking about doing St. James’ Way, the Bono Iacobus is certainly a great option to consider.

2 Comments on “What is the Bono Iacobus?”

  1. Hey would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working
    with? I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m having a tough
    time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.

    The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs
    and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.